× Upcoming Events About Us Donate Past Events
Home About Us Donate
Resounding Joy

Daniel Bolshoy, guitar

June 5, 2022 @ 3:00PM

Wojciech Kilar
Orawa (9')

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco
Guitar Concerto No.1 in D Major, Op. 99 (19')

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67 (34')

About the Program

We finish our 46th season with classical guitarist Daniel Bolshoy joining us for an afternoon of powerful, beautiful, and inspiring pieces by musical giants. If you enjoyed Daniel’s guitar mastery during last season’s At Home with Daniel & the BSO, you will love seeing and hearing him in person. 

Mr. Bolshoy solos on Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s Guitar Concerto, the orchestration of which was designed “to give more the appearance and the color of the orchestra than the weight,” according to the composer. Virtuoso Spanish classical guitarist Andrés Segovia used this work as a counterexample to the idea that a solo guitar cannot be heard over an orchestra.

We close with the magnificent Beethoven Symphony No. 5 and our thanks to our community for your support through these challenging times.

All programs are subject to change; please see the Bellingham Symphony website for detailed information.

An in-person Pre-Concert Lecture by Dr. Ryan Dudenbostel about the program will take place at 2:15PM in the Walton Theatre, current Covid protocols and phases permitting. Doors open at 2PM and seating is limited, so please plan accordingly.

About the Artist
Support the BSO

Giving to the BSO

We appreciate our many contributors and donors! Please click here to see our contributors listing for today's program. Thank you for helping the BSO bring the gift of music to our community during these times.

For more information on how to give at a personal level, please click here. If you are interested in information on how to become a Chair Underwriter or Sponsor, please click here.

The Bellingham Symphony Orchestra is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Your contribution is fully tax deductible as provided by law.

Bellingham Symphony Orchestra
Please visit the desktop edition of the program by clicking the link below.

View Desktop Version