× Upcoming Events Orchestra Indiana Supporters Donate About Us Education & Community Engagement Past Events
Image for Appalachian Spring
Appalachian Spring
Saturday, October 14, 2023
About the Show

An intimate program of classical favorites including Copland’s Appalachian Spring as originally written for 13-piece chamber orchestra, Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworks, and Pachelbel’s Canon in D. Under the direction of Principal Guest Conductor, Joel Smirnoff.

The performance is Saturday, October 14, 7:30 pm at Taylor University's Rediger Chapel Auditorium.

Thank You to Our Concert and Season Supporters

The Pat Schaefer Foundation



Appalachian Spring
Joel Smirnoff, conductor

Canon in DJohann Pachelbel

Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067 Johann Sebastian Bach
I. Overture             
II. Rondeau                                      
III. Sarabande
IV. Bourrée I/II
V. Polonaise/Double
VI. Menuet
VII. Badinerie

Mihoko Watanabe, flute


Appalachian Spring Aaron Copland

Music for the Royal Fireworks — George Frideric Handel
I. Overture             
II. Bourrée                                       
III. La Paix
IV. La Réjouissance
V. Menuets I and II

Artist Biographies
Orchestra Musicians