× Upcoming Events From the Executive Director Elizabeth Richebourg Rea and Philip Richebourg ASO Spotlight About the ASO ASO Chats General Information FASO Our Generous Donors Spain Tour Giving List Sponsored Musicians Annapolis Symphony Academy Donate Now In Memorium Covid Safety at Concerts Past Events
Image for About the ASO
About the ASO
Annapolis Symphony Orchestra
Connect with Us

visit website

facebook icon twitter icon vimeo icon you tube icon linked in icon
Our Mission

The mission of the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra is to inspire, educate and enrich lives near and far by creating extraordinary musical experiences with uncompromising artistic excellence.

With a 61-year history of artistic excellence, the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra is recognized as the largest and most distinguished performing arts organization in Maryland’s capital city. Under the direction of Jose-Luis Novo, the Symphony continues to rise in excellence and national reputation, performing Masterworks, Pops, Family Concerts and special events. The Symphony reaches thousands annually with its free Pops in the Park concert, joint concerts with the United States Naval Academy, accompanying the Annapolis Opera, and collaborative projects with other arts organizations and touring headliners. Additionally, we sponsor award-winning education concerts and outreach programs in community schools, sharing the joy of music-making with thousands of school children.

ASO orchestra

2022-2023 Board of Trustees


Mary McKiel, PhD, Chair

Shelley Row, PE, CSP, Vice Chair

Jerray Slocum, Treasurer

Ann Whitcomb, Assistant Treasurer & VP-Finance

Katherine Edwards, MD, Secretary

Elizabeth Maxwell-Schmidt, MD, Assistant Secretary


Robert Arias
Florence Calvert
Georgianna Crosby
William Davis
Ginger From
Charles Grudzinskas
Michelle Hellstern
Deb Howe
Geraldine "Mimi" Ladd Jones
Jill Kidwell
Monique Langston, MD
Shaun Mathis
Stephen A. Sotack
Marie Treanor

Trustees Emeritus

Peter Evans
David Anthony Huggins
Joe RubinoConstance L. Scott

Ex Officio Trustees

José-Luis Novo, Artistic Director & Conductor
The Philip Richebourg Chair

Paula Abernethy, FASO Representative

Edgar Herrera, Executive Director & Chief Development Officer
Patricia Edwards Chair 

Orchestra Representative

Kristin Bakkegard, Musicians’ Representative, Players Committee

Annapolis Symphony Orchestra Staff

Edgar Herrera
Executive Director & Chief Development Officer
The Patricia Edwards Chair

Netanel Draiblate
Annapolis Symphony Academy Director & Founder

Denise Rosson
Development Manager

Sarah Johansen
Director of Business Operations

Miriam Fogel
Director of Artistic Operations

Diana Love
Director of Marketing & Communications

Julie Nolan
Director of Education & Community Outreach
Grants Manager

Erica Johnson 
Senior Accountant 

Olivia Ren
Orchestra Librarian

Dave Sciannella
Operations Manager

Maya McAtee
Office & Data Manager

Shun Yao
Assistant Conductor, Annapolis Symphony Academy