× Upcoming Events Upcoming 2022-2023 Season About Us Our Musicians Thank you to our Donors Donate Contact Us Past Events
Image for The Firebird Suite
The Firebird Suite
Rong-Huey Liu, Oboe
The Firebird Suite

Trolls, ogres and a firebird, oh my! Prepare to relish in an night of unforgettable mythical melodies as the Long Beach Symphony presents a performance of folklore, fantasy and drama, complemented by the 20th century’s finest oboe concerto. This evening will present the iconic first movement of Peer Gynt, Suite No. 1 by Edvard Grieg, as the composer paints an idyllic sunrise over the Moroccan desert, followed by Strauss' masterful 3-movement oboe concerto featuring Long Beach Symphony's own principal oboist, Rong-Huey Liu. Finally, Stravinsky's exotic, exciting and beautiful tour-de-force, The Firebird Suite, will tell the exhilarating tale of Prince Ivan as he captures a mythical bird and is transported on a dazzling and daring adventure that sees love triumph over the forces of evil. Rhythmic, soaring and passionate, your evening of enchantment awaits!

Eckart Preu, conductor 
Rong-Huey Liu, oboe


The Firebird Suite is Generously Sponsored by:

Elizabeth and John Hancock