× Upcoming Events Dean's Circle Donate Email Sign-up Staff Shenandoah Conservatory Past Events
Image for Symphony Orchestra
Symphony Orchestra
02.17.24 | Armstrong Concert Hall
Symphony Orchestra


Student Soloists Competition Winners Concert

Emanuele Andrizzi, artistic director, conductor

Saturday, February 17, 2024 at 7:30 p.m.
Armstrong Concert Hall
Shenandoah Conservatory

Concerto in A Minor, op. 16

I. Allegro molto moderato

Edvard Grieg (1843–1907)

Alan Cary, piano

Je dis que rien me m’épouvante from Carmen

Georges Bizet (1838–1875)

Sofia Stankiewicz, soprano

Soul Force (2015)

Jessie Montgomery (b. 1981)

Cello Concerto in E Minor, op. 85

IV. Allegro – Moderato – Allegro, ma non-troppo – Poco più lento – Adagio

Edward Elgar (1857–1934)

Benjamin Figgs, cello

- intermission -

Violin Concerto in D Minor, op. 47

I. Allegro moderato

Jean Sibelius (1865–1957)

Emily Ilyes, violin

Ah! Je ris de me voir si belle (“The Jewel Song”) from Faust

Charles Gounod (1818–1893)

MiKayla Hatfield, soprano

Piano Concerto No. 5 in F Major, op. 103 (“The Egyptian”)

II. Andante
III. Molto allegro

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921)

Jisoo Kim, piano

Symphony Orchestra
Violin I

Nicholas Whitley, concert master
Gabrielle Gans
Kate Job
Elena Ross
Ethan Hemmings
Gracie Elswick
Katelyn McClinton

Violin II

Kyrie Beiler, principal
Ben Bleam
Francis Perry
Raquel Anongos
Virgilio Vazquez
Emily Mullen
Marco Pflanzen*
Chris Tillman*


Steven Gestrich, principal 
Jake Adamson
Danielle Lopez
Gavin Barricklow
Katherine Clark
Katie Hicks
Yisong Yang
Hannah Hill


Alex Corley, principal
Emma Scofield
Matthew Reffner
Christian Hartman
Christopher Gilley
Joe Klingler
Sophia Alvini-Moore
Bethany Hovermale
Kristian Dillon
Joshua Pryor
Jake Tuttle


Zach Smith, principal
Raegan Fisher
Jack Penland
Lance Davis


Jaylan Jones
Lizzie Pearson
Katarina Sams
Peter Woods


Lisa Gomez
Emma Shields
Mathuin Smith


Darian Angel
Jesse Eagle
Yannick Joseph
Mylah Kittle
Josh Lewis
Brenden Rafferty


Megan Frederick
Emily Seelinger
Emma Shockey


Maxwell Arceneaux
Addison Ashley
Sarah Berry
Ethan Hahn
Evan Joyce
Gabby Pocaro
Phoebe O'Kelly
Ryan Wezner


Mark Barr
Jaya Dickson
Taylor Losey
Vanessa Rivera
Samuel White


Talbot Jennings
Maggie Plosch
Jackson Smith
Trey Strosnider
Ian Elick


Aaron Reid


Alex Gamboa
AJ Guarino
Ben Millesen
Chance Morris

* denotes Shenandoah Conservatory alumnus

Dean's Circle

When you join the Shenandoah Conservatory Dean’s Circle, your annual member support helps Shenandoah Conservatory address the costs of excellence in performing arts training, equipping state-of-the-art facilities, hiring world-class faculty, and fostering experimental and creative student projects.

Join Now >

Shenandoah Conservatory is grateful to the Dean's Circle for supporting our creative community of artists, scholars and educators.

Meet the Dean's Circle >

To learn more about joining the Dean’s Circle and the other ways you can make a transformative gift to Shenandoah Conservatory visit www.su.edu/performs/support or contact:

Melanie L. Mathewes
Assistant Vice President for Advancement & Major Gifts
mmathewe@su.edu  |  (540) 665-4733

Shenandoah University is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All gifts are tax-deductible to the full extent of the law.

Friends of the Conservatory

As a Friend of the Conservatory, you designate your support for a specific academic department, student ensemble, high profile guest artist or special initiative. Your gift demonstrates your appreciation for the important role the arts play in our lives and our community.

Join Now >

Shenandoah Conservatory is grateful to the Friends of the Conservatory for supporting our creative community of artists, scholars and educators.

Meet the Friends of the Conservatory >


Contact Assistant Vice President for Advancement & Major Gifts Melanie L. Mathewes at (540) 665-4733 or mmathewe@su.edu for more information or other ways to give.

Shenandoah University is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All gifts are tax deductible to the full extent of the law.

Accessibility & Reminders

Wheelchair accessible restrooms are available across the courtyard in Gregory Hall (approximately 100 feet from the Armstrong Concert Hall lobby). Please notify house management for assistance.

Patrons are requested to silence cell phones and other electronic devices during performances. The taking of photographs and the use of recording equipment are not permitted during performances.