× Upcoming Events About NCS About Our Musicians About Our Boards 2023/24 Season Donors Corporate Supporters Make a Gift Past Events
About Our Musicians
North Carolina Symphony

Carlos Miguel Prieto
Music Director
The Maxine and Benjamin Swalin Chair

Grant Llewellyn
Music Director Laureate

Michelle Di Russo
Associate Conductor
The Lucy Moore Ruffin Chair

Violin I

Brian Reagin
The Annabelle Lundy Fetterman Chair

Jessica Hung
Associate Concertmaster
The Assad Meymandi and Family Chair

Anna Black
Assistant Concertmaster
The Anne Heartt Gregory Chair

Karen Strittmatter Galvin
Assistant Concertmaster

Carol Chung*

Emily Rist Glover
The Jessie Wyatt Ethridge Chair

Paul Goldsberry
The Richard and Joy Cook Chair

Maria Meyer
The Tom and Mary Mac Bradshaw Chair

Pablo Sánchez Pazos
The Phyllis (“Pat”) Conrad Wells Chair

Jessica Ryou
The James C. Byrd and Family Chair

Erin Zehngut
The J. Felix Arnold Chair

To Be Filled
The Harvey At-Large Chair

To Be Filled
The Governor James B. Hunt, Jr. Chair

Violin II

Jacqueline Saed Wolborsky
The Nancy Finch Wallace Chair

Tiffany Kang
Associate Principal
The Blanche Martin Shaw Chair

David Kilbride
Assistant Principal

Qi Cao

Janet Gayer Hall

Chris Jusell*

Oskar Ozolinch

Jeanine Wynton


Samuel Gold
The Florence Spinks and Charles Jacob Cate and Alma Yondorf and Sylvan Hirschberg Chair

Kurt Tseng
Associate Principal
The Betty Ellen Madry Chair

Brian Sherwood
Assistant Principal

Petra Berényi

Paul Malcolm

Daniel Moore

Amy Mason
The J. Sidney Kirk Chair

Sandra Schwarcz
The Samuel H. and Anne Latham Johnson Viola Chair


Bonnie Thron
The June and Tom Roberg Chair

Elizabeth Beilman
Associate Principal
The Sarah Carlyle Herbert Dorroh Chair

Peng Li
Assistant Principal
Anonymously Endowed

Yewon Ahn
Anonymously Endowed

David Meyer
The Nell Hirschberg Chair

Marc Moskovitz*
The William Charles Rankin Chair

Lisa Howard Shaughnessy
The Sara Wilson Hodgkins Chair

Nathaniel Yaffe
The Secretary of Cultural Resources Betty Ray McCain Chair

Double Bass

Leonid Finkelshteyn
The Martha and Peyton Woodson Chair

Bruce Ridge*
Associate Principal
The John C. and Margaret P. Parker Chair

Craig Brown
The Mark W. McClure Foundation Chair

Erik Dyke
The Harllee H. and Pauline G. Jobe Chair

John Spuller*
The Dr. and Mrs. Preston H. Gada Chair


To Be Filled
The Mr. and Mrs. George M. Stephens Chair

Mary E. Boone
Assistant Principal
The Dr. and Mrs. Shaler Stidham, Jr. Chair

Vaynu Kadiyali*
The Jack and Sing Boddie Chair


Vaynu Kadiyali*
The Jean Dunn Williams Chair


Melanie Wilsden
The Hardison and Stoltze Chair

Joseph Peters
Associate Principal
The Lizette T. Dunham Chair

Rachel Ahn*
The Clarence and Alice Aycock Poe Chair

English Horn

Joseph Peters
The Bruce and Margaret King Chair


Samuel Almaguer
The Mr. and Mrs. J. Christopher Walker, II Chair

Sammy Lesnick
Assistant Principal
The Kathryn Powell and Green Flavie Cooper Chair


Aaron Apaza
The Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald S. Hudson Chair

Wenmin Zhang
Assistant Principal
The Beethoven Chair

French Horn

Rebekah Daley
The Mary T. McCurdy Chair

Kimberly Van Pelt
Associate Principal
The Paul R. Villard and Gabriel Wolf Chair

Corbin Castro*
The Roger Colson and Bobbi Lyon Hackett Chair

Gabriel Mairson*
The James Marion Poyner Chair

To Be Filled
The Mary Susan Kirk Fulghum Chair


Paul Randall
The George Smedes Poyner Chair

Clinton McLendon
Associate Principal
The Henry and Martha Zaytoun and Family Chair


John Ilika
The Thomas Warwick Steed, Jr. Family Chair

Steven Osborne*
Assistant Principal

Jonathan Randazzo**
Assistant Principal
The Frances Armour Bryant Chair

Bass Trombone

Matthew Neff
Anonymously Endowed


Seth Horner
The Governor and Mrs. James G. Martin, Jr. Chair


Colin Hartnett
The Patricia R., Steven T. and George F. Hackney III Chair


Richard Motylinski
The Margery and Earl Johnson, Jr. Chair

Rajesh Prasad
Assistant Principal
The Abram and Frances Pascher Kanof Chair


To Be Filled
The Albert and Susan Jenkins and Family Organ Chair


Stephanie Wilson
Principal Orchestra Librarian
The Mary Colvert and Banks C. Talley Chair

Taylor Troyer
Assistant Orchestra Librarian

*Acting position
**Leave of absence

The North Carolina Symphony Foundation gratefully acknowledges the generous gift of the Lupot violin from Arnold and Zena Lerman.


Named musician chairs are made possible through very meaningful gifts to the Symphony’s endowment. As such, these donor families are also members of the Lamar Stringfield Society.

All string players rotate stands on a periodic basis in each section with the exception of titled players: Principals, Associate Principals, and Assistant Principals.

The North Carolina Symphony is a member of the League of American Orchestras and the International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians.

The North Carolina Master Chorale is the Resident Chorus of the North Carolina Symphony.