× Upcoming Events About NCS About Our Musicians About Our Boards 2023/24 Season Donors Corporate Supporters Make a Gift Past Events
About Our Boards
North Carolina Symphony
About Our Boards

North Carolina Symphony Society, Inc.

The Society Board is the governing, policy, and operating board of the Symphony Society. It secures financial resources, approves program goals, engages in strategic planning, and oversees budgets, continuing the Society’s mission to achieve the highest level of artistic quality and performance standards, and embracing the dual legacies of statewide service and music education.

Mr. Joe Bastian, Chair, Chapel Hill
Dr. Wm. Charles Helton, Vice Chair, Raleigh
Mr. Terry L. Stevens, Treasurer, Raleigh
Mr. David Haines, Assistant Treasurer, Cary
Mrs. Rosemary Gill Kenyon, Secretary, Raleigh
Mr. Don Davis, Past Chair, Raleigh
Ms. Sandi M. A. Macdonald, President & CEO, Raleigh

Ms. Deborah M. Aiken, Wake Forest
Dr. Tim Altman**, Garner
Mr. Chip Anderson*, Raleigh
Ms. Stephanie Bass, Clayton
Dr. Trude R. Bate, Cary
Ms. Denise S. Bennett, Raleigh
Mr. Jud Bowman, Durham
Ms. Patty Briguglio, Raleigh
The Honorable Roy Cooper*, Raleigh
Mr. Jeffrey A. Corbett, Raleigh
Dr. Roy Cromartie, Raleigh
Mr. Courtney Crowder, Raleigh
Mr. Jim Datin, Chapel Hill
Mr. Richard L. Daugherty, Raleigh
Mr. Keith Donahue**, Raleigh
Dr. Robert N. Eby, Chapel Hill
Mr. James C. Gulick**, Raleigh
Mrs. Elaine Bryant Hayes, Fayetteville
Ms. Kristen Hess, Raleigh
Mr. Richard E. Hinson, Chapel Hill
Mr. Kevin Howell**, Raleigh
Mr. L. Dwain Joyce*, Fayetteville
Mrs. Cecelia Eckert Kennedy, Apex
Ms. Rosemary Gill Kenyon, Raleigh
Dr. Robert Lacin, Raleigh
Dr. Mark Leithe, Raleigh
Rev. Dr. Christie Mabry, Raleigh
Mrs. Dawn MacLaren, Raleigh
Mr. Robert MacNeill, Jr., Durham
Mr. Branford Marsalis, Durham
Mrs. Louise A. Miller, Raleigh
Mr. James Morgan, Raleigh
Ms. Lori O’Keefe, Wake Forest
Ms. Rebecca Quinn-Wolf, Raleigh
Dr. Ramachandra P. Reddy, Cary
Ms. Donna Rhode, Cary
Mr. Jason Smith, Raleigh
Mrs. Tracey Fodor Smith (deceased), Farmville
Mr. David Sontag, Chapel Hill
Mrs. Linda J. Staunch*, New Bern
Mr. Gray Styers, Jr., Greensboro
Ms. Sandy Sully, Cary
Ms. Alison Trapp, Chapel Hill
The Honorable Catherine Truitt*, Cary
Mr. Dereck Whittenburg, Raleigh
Secretary D. Reid Wilson*, Raleigh
Mrs. Darliene S. Woolner, Cary

*Ex Officio Member
**Governor’s Appointee


Lifetime Trustees

The Society and Foundation Boards gratefully recognize the individuals listed below as Lifetime Trustees for extraordinary involvement and leadership of the Symphony over a significant period of time.

Dr. Assad Meymandi – 2015 Inductee
Mr. Edward O. Woolner (deceased) – 2016 Inductee
Mrs. Florence Peacock – 2022 Inductee


North Carolina Symphony Foundation

The Foundation Board holds the permanent endowment of the Symphony, solicits additions to the endowment, safeguards and invests assets, and prudently expends funds for the exclusive use and benefit of the Symphony Society.

Mr. Chip Anderson, President, Raleigh
Col. Matt Segal, Treasurer, Cary
Ms. Dianne C. Sellers, Secretary, Raleigh

Ms. Catharine Biggs Arrowood, Raleigh
Mr. Joe Bastian*, Chapel Hill
Mr. Richard L. Daugherty, Raleigh
Dr. Wm. Charles Helton, Raleigh
Mr. Bill Hodges, Raleigh
Mr. D. S. (Steve) Hodges, Durham
Dr. Ted Kunstling, Raleigh
Mr. Robert Loweth, Wilmington
Dr. Emily Mann Peck, Raleigh
Mrs. Ashley Matlock Perkinson, Raleigh
Dr. Shaler Stidham, Jr., Raleigh
Mr. Larry Wilson, Raleigh

*Ex Officio Member


North Carolina Symphony Chapter Boards

Craven County

Linda J. Staunch, President

Nancy Alexander
M.J. Bertsch
Susan Braaten
Dr. Jim Congleton
Tahira Copeland
Philip Evancho
Hannah B. French
Dr. Dwight Grady
Cille Griffith
John Haroldson
Drew Honeycutt
Christopher McCrudden
Champ Mitchell
Dr. Joe Overby
Luana Palimetakis
Lauren Quinn
Pat Rowlett
Karen M. Skipper
Dawn D. Staats
Cindy Turco

Cumberland County

Mr. L. Dwain Joyce, President
Mr. Worth Smith, Vice President

Mrs. Alisa Evans Debnam
Mr. Chima Enwere
Ms. Andretta L. Hales
Mrs. Elaine Bryant Hayes
Ms. Andrea Kelly
Ms. Ashley Martin
Mr. Calvin Mims
Mr. Alec Powers

Edgecombe County

Ann Warren, President
Nettie Williams, Vice President
Becky Johnson, Secretary

Joy Chafin
Doneva Chavis
Kerrie Clayton
Joshua Dumbleton
Ronnie Ellis
Anderson Ferrell
Carol Ferri
Eric Greene
Dr. Gregory McLeod
Johanna Owens
Nina Rountree
Angie Ruffin
Katie Schultz
Theresa Scott
Dave Sharpe
Suzanne Sharpe
Janet Spiers
Jessie Thorne
Joe White

Moore County

Ginger Minichiello, President
Deb Swanson, Secretary

Luke Arno
Chris Dunn*
Audrey Kessler
Greg Lundberg
Marie Riedesel
Elaine Sills

Onslow County

Earl Taylor, President
Val Darner, Vice-President
Lyndsay Russell, Secretary

Joli Brooks
Lane Beuerman
Dr. Erin Chaney
Pat Collins
Bill Darner
Susan Edwards
Gloria Goodwin
Dr. Robert Kell
Vickie Kell
Korene Marsh
Marjorie Tredwell

*Ex Officio Member